Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Fairfax County Chairman Bulova's Statement on Fairfax County Redistricting


Statement on Approval of Redistricting Plan

April 26, 2011

As a result of an open and transparent process that included significant public outreach and community involvement, the Board of Supervisors today approved a redistricting plan that creates a fair and even distribution of Fairfax County residents among the nine magisterial districts. The changes the plan makes, outlined by Supervisor McKay in his motion, will ensure that each resident is fairly represented on this Board for the next ten years.

The Citizen Advisory Committee should be commended for their work. The Committee was made up of 21 Fairfax County residents appointed by the Board of Supervisors representing each supervisor district, the Democratic and Republican parties, the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce, the Federation of Citizens Associations, the League of Women Voters, the African-American, Hispanic and Asian/Pacific Islander communities, as well as the County at large.

Despite being on a tight schedule due to the upcoming elections, the Committee held seven meetings and one workshop all of which were open to (and attended by) the public.

I want to thank former Board of Supervisors Chairman Kate Hanley who I appointed to head the Citizen Advisory Committee. Kate applied her expertise, acquired from years of public service on this Board and in Richmond as Secretary of the Commonwealth, to make our redistricting process successful.

Thank you to Deputy County Attorney Michael Long who provided legal guidance to the Citizens Advisory Committee. Both Michael and Kate have worked on multiple redistricting efforts, and their experience in these complicated matters was indispensible.

I want to thank Supervisor McKay for his leadership over the past few months. At every turn, Jeff made sure that the public was informed and involved in the process.

Sharon Bulova

Chairman, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors


At its April 26 meeting, the Board of Supervisors adopted a redistricting plan. The plan maintains nine supervisors districts, but it shifts seven voting precincts to different districts.

Although the precinct changes are effective immediately per state law, they cannot be implemented until they are precleared by the U.S. Attorney General, as required by federal law under Section 5 of Voting Rights Act of 1965.

The public may send comments on the county's plan to the U.S. Department of Justice by e-mail; by fax to 202-616–9514; or by mail:

Chief, Voting Section
Civil Rights Division
Room 7254 - NWB
U.S. Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20530

Comments submitted by other delivery services should be sent to Chief, Voting Section, Civil Rights Division, Room 7254-NWB, U.S. Department of Justice, 1800 G Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20006

For comments sent by mail, email or fax, the first page and envelope, if any, should be marked: ‘‘Comment under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act.’’


Adopted Redistricting Plan
Adopted Redistricting Plan

As adopted by the board, seven precincts are shifted to other districts, and three precinct boundaries have been changed.

Precinct Changes

* Bristow moves from Braddock to Mason District.
* Eagle View and Monument move from Springfield to Braddock District.
* Walnut Hill No. 2 moves from Providence to Mason District.
* Hunt moves from Mount Vernon to Springfield District.
* Coates moves from Hunter Mill to Dranesville District.
* Colvin moves from Dranesville to Hunter Mill District.

Precinct Boundary Changes

* Woodlawn Precinct is divided along Frye Road. Frye Road becomes the eastern boundary of the Woodlawn Precinct. The area east of Frye Road becomes a new precinct to be named “Pinewood” and then be included in the Lee District. The Pinewood polling place will be the Mount Vernon Woods Elementary School.

* Willow Springs Precinct is divided along Stringfellow Road to the north of Lee Highway. Stringfellow Road becomes the western boundary of the Willow Springs and the eastern boundary of the Powell Precinct. The area to the west of Stringfellow Road is included in the Sully District.

* Nottoway Precinct is divided so that the portion of the precinct that lies within the Town of Vienna becomes part of the Vienna No. 6 Precinct. That area is included in the Hunter Mill District.

The county's nine supervisor districts are now composed of these election precincts:


Bonnie Brae, Burke Centre, Cardinal, Chapel, Eagle View, Fairview, Heritage, Keene Mill, Kings Park, Lake Braddock, Laurel, Long Branch, Monument, North Springfield No. 1, North Springfield No. 2, Oak Hill, Olde Creek, Olley, Ravensworth, Robinson, Sideburn, Signal Hill, Terra Centre, Villa, Wakefield,and Woodson


Chain Bridge, Chesterbrook, Churchill, Clearview, Coates, Cooper, El Nido, Forestville, Great Falls, Haycock, Herndon No. 1, Herndon No. 2, Herndon No. 3, Hickory, Hutchison, Kenmore, Kirby, Langley, Longfellow, McLean, Pimmit, Salona, Seneca, Shouse, Spring Hill, Sugarland, Westhampton, and Westmoreland.

Hunter Mill:

Aldrin, Cameron Glen, Colvin, Dogwood, Flint Hill, Floris, Fox Mill, Frying Pan, Glade, Hunters Woods, McNair, North Point, Reston No. 1, Reston No. 2, Reston No. 3, South Lakes, Stuart, Sunrise Valley, Terraset, Vienna No. 1, Vienna No. 2, Vienna No. 4, Vienna No. 6, Westbriar, and Wolftrap


Bush Hill, Cameron, Clermont, Crestwood, Fairfield, Franconia, Garfield, Greenspring, Groveton, Hayfield, Huntley, Island Creek, Kingstowne, Lane, Lynbrook, Mount Eagle, Pinewood, Pioneer, Rose Hill, Van Dorn, Villages, Virginia Hills, and Wilton


Baileys, Barcroft, Belvedere, Bren Mar, Bristow, Brook Hill, Camelot, Columbia, Edsall, Glen Forest No. 1, Glen Forest No. 2, Holmes No. 1, Holmes No. 2, Hummer, Leewood, Lincolnia, Masonville, Parklawn, Poe, Ravenwood, Ridgelea, Saint Albans, Skyline, Sleepy Hollow, Walnut Hill No. 1, Walnut Hill No. 2, Westlawn, Weyanoke, Whittier, and Willston

Mount Vernon:

Alban, Belle Haven, Belleview, Belvoir, Bucknell, Fort Hunt, Grosvenor, Gunston, Hollin Hall, Huntington, Kirkside, Laurel Hill, Lorton, Lorton Center, Lorton Station, Marlan, Newington, Saratoga, Sherwood, South County, Stratford, Waynewood, Westgate, Whitman, Woodlawn, and Woodley


Blake, Fairfax Court (that part of Fairfax County containing the governmental complex that is surrounded by Fairfax City), Fort Buffalo, Freedom Hill, Graham, Greenway, Kilmer, Magarity, Mantua, Marshall, Merrifield, Mosby, Nottoway, Oak Marr, Oakton, Penderbrook, Pine Ridge, Pine Spring, Price, Shreve, Stenwood, Thoreau, Timber Lane, Tysons, Walker, and Woodburn


Burke, Centerpointe, Cherry Run, Clifton, Fair Lakes, Fair Oaks, Fairfax Station, Fountainhead, Hunt, Greenbriar East, Greenbriar West, Irving, Newgate North, Newgate South, Orange, Parkway, Pohick, Popes Head, Sangster, Silverbrook, South Run, Valley, West Springfield, White Oaks, Willow Springs, and Woodyard


Brookfield, Bull Run, Centre Ridge, Centreville, Cub Run, Deer Park, Dulles, Franklin, Green Trails, Kinross, Lees Corner East, Lees Corner West, London Towne East, London Towne West, Navy, Old Mill, Poplar Tree, Powell, Rocky Run, Stone, Vale, Virginia Run, and Waples Mill



No comments:

Post a Comment